Ragin' Cajun softball suffered a 3-2 loss to close out their series against Alabama, and a blown call makes it even harder to swallow for Coach Michael Lotief.

The Crimson Tide struck first with a single run in the third, then the Cajuns tied it up in the sixth inning on an RBI groundout by Sara Corbello. What happened in the bottom of the sixth almost made Coach Lotief blow a gasket.

On what appeared to be a sacrifice play, an Alabama base runner came well off the line into the fielding plane, obstructing the throwing lane. An out should have been called. On the play, both runners reached safely and the Tide ended up scoring in the inning to reclaim their lead. To say the least, Coach Lotief was far from pleased with the call.

Shellie Landry blasted a home-run in the top of the 7th inning to tie things back up, but Alabama responded in the bottom of the inning with a leadoff double that eventually came in on a game-winning sacrifice fly. Alabama did what they had to do in the final frame to walk away with the win, but it will be hard for Coach Lotief and the rest of Ragin' Cajun Softball not to think about the questionable missed call in the prior inning.

With the series on the line, Jordan Wallace went the distance, only allowing two earned runs on six hits...and she ended up having to take a loss. Lexie Elkins went 3-for-4 at the plate as well. The Cajuns played one of the best collegiate softball programs in the land tight and fairly, so to come away with a loss in those circumstances could certainly drive a coach up the walls.

The loss drops the Cajuns to 15-2 on the year, as they head into their conference schedule with a road series in Mobile on deck. The team and staff will move on and put the blown call behind them, but the umpires from Sunday's game certainly shouldn't expect a "Thank You" note from Coach Lotief for their services.