Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III was announced as the 2011 Heisman Trophy winner on Saturday night.

Griffin, who became the first Baylor player ever to win the honor, received 405 first-place votes, and 1,687 total points, outdistancing Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, who received 247 first-place votes, and 1,487 total points.

Alabama running back Tent Richardson finished third, with Wisconsin running back Montee Ball finishing fourth, and LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu finishing in fifth-place.

Griffin led the nation in passing efficiency, with a 192.3 rating, as he completed 72% of his attempted passes, for 3,998 yards, and 36 touchdowns.


Robert Griffin III wins the 2011 Heisman Trophy has more.