For the second time in three years the New Orleans Saints offensive line was awarded the Prilosec OTC Madden Protectors Award.

Jahri Evans, Carl Nicks, Zach Strief, Brian De La Puente and Jermon Bushrod accepted the trophy during a press event in Indianapolis earlier today.

Perhaps it’s fitting that the heaviest trophy in the NFL is the Madden Protectors Award. It tops the scales at 102 pounds.

The Saints O-Line protected QB Drew Brees and provided solid run blocking for the top rated offense in the NFL. New Orleans ranked 1st in total passing yards on the season (5,347), 6th in total rushing yards (2127), and finished 2nd in total points scored on the season (547). They also led the league in yards per game (467.1) and ranked 2nd in sacks allowed (24 sacks).

Allowing only 24 sacks for an offense that is extremely pass heavy is a true testament to the overall talent of the Saints offensive line.